-A +A


To determine if school vehicles will be cancelled, early morning assessments of the road and weather conditions are reviewed during a 5:30 a.m. conference call between the SCSTC and School Vehicle Operators.

During the 5:30 am conference call, the SCSTC and School Vehicle Operators review:

  • assessment of current road conditions;
  • assessment of current and projected weather information;
  • assessment of current visibility as it relates to the safe operation of school vehicles;
  • assessment of current and forecasted precipitation in the form of snow accumulation on roads and freezing rain as it relates to the safe operation of school vehicles;
  • confirmation if snow plows have been out on the roads;
  • gathering additional information on road conditions from available local services and resources.

School Vehicle cancellations may be:

  • specific to a single weather zone;
  • include multiple weather zones; or
  • a total Simcoe County wide cancellation.

Simcoe County is divided into four (4) weather zones:

  • North Zone - Midland, Penetanguishine, Elmvale, Orillia and surrounding areas
  • West Zone - Collingwood, Stayner, Wasaga Beach and surrounding areas
  • South Zone - Bradford, Alliston, Tottenham and surrounding areas
  • Central Zone - Barrie, Innisfil, Angus and surrounding areas

Please reference the School Bus Information page for school vehicle cancellations.